Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CSHA Region 5 English Western Program?

  • The English Western program exists as an affordable way for you to compete, to encourage participation in equestrian activities, to develop horsemastership and sportsmanship regardless of breed preference.

What steps must I take to become a competitor in the English Western program?

  • Become a member of CSHA. Join directly or through the many CSHA member clubs in our region.
  • Register as a competitor in the English Western Program by completing the enrollment form.
  • Apply for an amateur card if you are 18 years or older and wish to compete in the amateur divisions.

What is an amateur card and why do I need one?

  • CSHA requires competitors, 18 years and older to certify that they are competing as a amateur.
  • Competitors wanting to compete in any of the following age divisions, 18 & over, 18 to 34 or 35 & over, are required to possess a current amateur card issued by CSHA or by a nationally recognized breed or association (AQHA, APHA, USEF, etc.)
  • You are not required to obtain an amateur card in order to compete, but without one you will be limited to the Open Division only.

What is the definition of an amateur?

  • Exhibitor is 18 years of age or older and has not received remuneration, monetary or otherwise, either directly or indirectly, for the previous 3 years for training, riding instruction, showing or judging horses. (WCHS Rule Book Section 1.4)

My horse is not registered, can I still compete?

  • CSHA is an open breed organization.
  • Your horse does not need to be a registered breed in order to compete.

How does the High Point Program works?

  • You must compete in a minimum of 3 CSHA sanctioned shows.
  • A champion and reserve champion in each age division and category will be determined by the competitor(s) with the highest total scores of 7 approved shows.
  • The high point program will also establish the top 10 riders in each age division and category who will be invited to represent our region at the State Championship Show.

Which shows am I allowed to attend?

  • Only CSHA sanctioned shows will count towards points.
  • Shows are approved on a statewide basis.
  • You may attend any of the shows on the approval list

How do I find which shows are sanctioned by CSHA?

  • CSHA maintains a calendar of approved shows.
  • Look for the show calendar link for the most current listing of approved shows.

How do I qualify to compete at the State Championship Show?

  • You must compete in a minimum of 3 CSHA sanctioned shows
  • You must rank in the top 10 in your age division and category for our region
  • You will then be invited to compete at the State Championship Show against the top 10 riders from other regions to determine the State Champions.

I am ready to show, where do I begin?

  • Download the Check List. It will lead you step by step on the necessary forms that you'll need.
  • Go to the Show Calendar on the CSHA website. It will list the sanctioned shows that will count for points.

How do I receive more information about the English Western program?

  • Contact the Region 5 English Western program chair, George Yamamoto by email at [email protected] or by phone at 925-754-4141

CSHA Show Calendar

Use this link to get the latest listings of approved shows for the current show season. 

CSHA Website

Use this link to get to the CSHA website.

Region 5 Website

Use this link to get to the CSHA Region 5 website.

Bay Equest Website

Use this link to get to the Bay Equest website.

Join us on Facebook

This site uses Google reCAPTCHA technology to fight spam. Your use of reCAPTCHA is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.

Thank you! Your message was sent successfully.

Use this link to contact us for more information